March Musings

The hubs is in tax season, or what we call busy season. The kids have forgotten what he looks like but he does call and text on occasion so we are confident he is still alive. We miss him.

I have been helping write and edit a huge project my dad is working on (one of the reasons I have been MIA on this blog lately). Working on this has been amazing and occasionally exhausting. I am learning so much and am so excited to share our project with you all very soon! Dad is a clinical sexologist, marriage and family therapist, speaker and published author. His work is brilliant and invaluable. I will have much more to share on that soon!

Slowly but surely I am turning my household into a household of book readers. My husband is on his fifth book in as many months (more books than he read in the eleven years prior). He comes home late at night and reads me his favorite passages and I swoon. Canyon has joined his siblings in their habit of reading in bed every night. Be still my heart. And so far I am on track to read a book a week this year! If anyone needs any recommendations I have several. 🙂 (I wrote an article about this for parent.co and found out today they will be publishing it in the next month!!) So far it has been a banner year for reading and writing in this house. ❤

Let’s see, what else…

I am trying to eat like a grown-up this month. My body resents my poor habits and I have grown tired of arguing with it. I am not a purest by any stretch of the imagination but mostly this is going well. I miss my daily dose of bread and ice-cream but it sure does feel good to feel good. I am also attempting to exercise more consistently, which is not going so well, buthave been running a few times recently, twice with Chaz, and that has felt so so amazing!!

I love this little house in the country. I love the woods and the sunsets and the farms I walk or run by every week. I love not being exactly sure where the kids are half the time and catching glimpses of them as they run through the yard for the seven hundredth time each day.

My hip still aches on occasion. My oldest and youngest can still be super bossy and my boys still argue way more than I would prefer. We still don’t know where we will be living for the rest of this year or where our children will be attending school in the fall. My husband still works more hours than we would like and we are still processing the losses we experienced last year. But overall, even with the moments of ache and disappointment, we are experiencing so much peace and gratitude in this season.

I have a lot I want to share here, just have not been quite focused enough to sit down and share it. I did start Instablogging a few weeks ago though and that has been a great way to let off some creative steam until I again make time to write more extensively here.

And I think that is about it for now! Life is good. We are learning and together and grateful.

Oh. And my newest dream is to convert a big van and drive to Alaska for a year. Ha! Cheers, friends. I hope this finds you happy, healthy and hopeful.

~Echo~

 

Leave a Reply

