Food for Thought (Week 11)

The more I learn the more I realize how little I really know. And this can be overwhelming at first but the more I sit with that and in that, the more comfortable it feels and the more I cherish the humility and the vulnerability it creates in my heart and in my spirit. Or in the words of Science Mike:

“The fact is there is far more out there unknown than known. And that can give us kind of a philosophical head trip. So to avoid the trap of excessive certainty, to avoid having the rug pulled out from under me in the future when I learn new things about reality, I have a trick. I take all my ideas about the world and I hold them in an open hand instead of a closed fist. So everything I know about God, everything I’ve learned about science, I put them in an open hand. I’ve learned to hack my brains need for certainty by being certain about my own uncertainty. I know that there are things I don’t know, I know that I’m wrong about some things, I just don’t know which things. And that compels me to live a life of relative intellectual humility while still allowing me to experience God, to trust that there may be some higher plan out there than simply what we can learn through science but also to accept scientific fact and not reject it if it is somehow in conflict with my preconceived religious notions. I like to swim in both streams, science and faith. Perhaps a path to peace for you is learning to accept all the different ways you contemplate the world and trust that they can all be good in your life.”

And on that note…

Week 11 Articles:

Happy Weight

Clear Out Your Junk By Selling Anything You Wouldn’t Buy Again Today 

Minimalist Family: Start with Yourself

Sacred Grief

Postmortem.

Week 11 Audio/Video:

The RobCast, Rob Bell: One Thing (episode 1)
The Liturgists: How Do We Know What We Know

Leave a Reply

