Monday Moments

-Haven picking out her own clothes now that her dresser is reorganized. Always fun to see what she will piece together each day.

-Listening to The Power of Vulnerability on my way into town this morning.

-Having an almost twelve year who will babysit her siblings and an aunt and Honey next door to keep an ear out too.

-Reading Traveling Mercies for my 30+ minute wait at the chiropractor.

-Grocery shopping for the first time in a month and spending less than $300 to fully restock our fridge, freezer and pantry. (I ❤ Aldi.)

-Getting home from the chiropractor and Aldi to find the boys playing frisbee and climbing trees and the girls riding on the golfcart.

-Unloading the groceries into our cottage kitchen, with the kids help, and hearing my four year old nephew say, “Oh, I’m so glad you got pizza, I’ve been wanting some pizza!”

-Having a close friend, and now neighbor, stop by just to say hi. ☺

-Looking out the back door to see Uncle Taylor driving the kids around on the four wheeler.

-The older three cousins disappearing into the woods for over an hour.

-Sitting around the table with old friends who spent the afternoon at “Honey’s House”.

-Recognizing that though my talents are not always useful, they were useful today.

-Having enough leftover chicken chili and cornbread to feed all of us dinner.

-Watching The Man in the High Castle with Chaz.

-Checking on the kids before we went to bed and finding Canyon curled up in his big sister’s bed. ❤

We traded a bigger house for a smaller house. Three bedrooms for two. A half acre for ten. And a neighborhood for a field and some woods.

My sister waves to me from her porch when I sit on mine. My kids run next door multiple times a day to hug three of their grandparents and to beg two of their cousins to come out and play.

We have big skies and front porch sunsets. And my writing desk sits by a window.

I don’t know how long we will be here. I just know that for this season, we are very glad to be.

6 thoughts on “Monday Moments

  1. I don’t know if you remember me, but your parents kindly rented my husband and I the cottage almost 2 years ago for a few months while we were looking for a permanent home after we moved from Texas to Tennessee. While we lived there my almost 2 year old granddaughter would come over to play on the trampoline and play set, or “my park” as she called it. In my opinion, it is the perfect place to raise children, and I am so happy your children will have the privilege of spending their days in that idyllic setting with family who love them so much just steps away! Thank you for sharing your thoughts as I have enjoyed reading them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this thoughtful comment, Jacki. It warms my heart to hear of your memories and to read your kind words. We feel blessed to be in the cottage for this season. Thank you for reading and for your words. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

