My Kind of Sunday

The blessing of the harder days seems to be a renewed appreciation for the easier days.

The last three weeks have been a blur of moving boxes, vomiting children, sick parents, heavy work stress, gray skies, freezing temperatures and endless precipitation.

Today we basked in the light at the end of that tunnel.

img_20170115_153639277_hdr

The children slept all night last night (for the first time in weeks). Or in Haven’s words, “When I woke up I just squeezed my doggy and went back to sleep! I did not wake up mama!” (We had a looong talk with them before bed last night.)

We made sausage balls  and coffee, orange juice and English muffins for breakfast.

Chaz finished the puzzle we gave him for Christmas and watched football. I soaked up the sunlight from the back deck with Traveling Mercies and The Power of Vulnerability.

IMG_20170115_184207609.jpg

The kids spent the morning running from house to house with their cousins, playing games, playing Legos, reading Lego magazines and activity books and finishing their chore list. They spent the afternoon on the driveway riding bikes, in the front yard playing Frisbee, in the back woods hiking trails and in the back yard jumping on the trampoline and flying down the zip-line.

Chaz and I hiked the trails with our boys as the sun was setting. I rode the zip-line for the first time ever and jumped on the trampoline for the first time since my surgery!

I had the rare forethought to start a crock-pot of chicken chili this morning so dinner was as easy as boiling a pot of rice to go with it.

Grandma joined us for our very first dinner around our new cottage table.

IMG_20170115_182732478.jpg

The youngest three took a much needed bath. The oldest cleaned the kitchen. All four put away their laundry. I unpacked another box.

And now the girls are watching Alice in Wonderland with Grandma. The boys are playing Wii in their man cave in the basement. And I am finishing my fifteenth of 31 Posts in January Challenge.

It’s been extraordinary. Ordinary.

It’s been my kind of Sunday.

4 thoughts on “My Kind of Sunday

  1. I had a lovely Sunday too and now I can’t quit thinking, “Oh I should have done this or that yesterday.”Also, the day I had the pukes on moving day is a day I will not soon forget. Awfu!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad that health is returning to your family. Have you moved to your parents’ cottage? Thanks for sharing your talent! ❤️ Henni

    Henriette Provence

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

