My 2017 Reading Challenge

Books are still my favorite medium.

I love podcasts and movies and thought provoking blog posts. But if I were stranded on a desert island, it would be books I longed for most.

I did read more books in 2016 than in many years prior.

I found that by spending less time on screens, listening to audiobooks, reading every night before bed and taking a book with me literally everywhere I went I could finish about three books per month.

Some of them were life-changing. As really good books tend to be. Others were pretty blah, leaving me feeling my time would have been better spent elsewhere.

So with all that said, my plan is to read more intentionally this year than I did last.

I started a book list back in November.

And I reached out to some of my book lover friends and asked them to each send me their top five book recommendations.

So my 2017 book list is a combination of those recommendations, some classics I’m embarrassed to admit I haven’t yet read, some how-to/inspirational books on writing and a few that have just been on my list for so long that I feel it is time they be read.

If I am to be an author someday, I believe these are some of the books I will be glad to have read.

My goal is 52. A book a week for one year.

I have only added books to the list that are 400 pages or less because when I first started my list I realized that some were 800, 1200 even 1500 pages long.

For this season of my life at least, I will not be reading a 1500 page book in a week.

I am so excited. And slightly intimidated. But mostly just excited.

I plan to post an update once a month. I find goals shared more readily accomplished.

Please comment if you have read any of these! Or if you have your own reading challenge for 2017. I would be thrilled to hear about it!

On Deck for January:

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott

Writers on Writing (essay compilation)

Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

I will keep you posted as I go! Cheers to all my fellow book readers out there!

4 thoughts on “My 2017 Reading Challenge

    1. Love that you are doing that! I started keeping a list of books I’d read when I turned thirty. It’s been a great way to look back and remember the stories and also a great way to remember what to recommend to friends! Goodreads is a fun way to keep track too. Thanks for reading and commenting! Happy reading! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

